Of money and mouths

I’ve been writing recently about various ways of funding public goods. The time has come for me to put my money where my mouth is. Or rather, for me to ask you to put your money where my mouth is. Let me explain.

I enjoyed recording Progress and Poverty for LibriVox, but at the moment, I don’t think I can afford the energy to continue doing that sort of thing on a voluntary basis. But if I’m being paid for it, that might release pressure in other areas of my life, allowing me more energy to do the recording.

So I’ve started a pledge campaign to raise money for me to record The Everlasting Man by G. K. Chesterton. As far as I know, this book isn’t in the public domain in the USA, so LibriVox won’t be able to host it; I’ll need to set up a New Zealand website to host the recordings, which is another reason some money would be useful if this project is to go ahead. (The pledges are denominated in New Zealand dollars, but I think you can pay by credit card from anywhere in the world.)

At the moment, I’m just using the ordinary threshold pledge system, but if this works out, and, as intended, I go on to record some C. S. Lewis works when they fall into the public domain in New Zealand next year, then I might consider asking people to bid against each other for which book they want me to read. The Wall Street performer protocol might be taking it a little too far; that might require permission from the Securities Commission, and a whole lot more website infrastructure.

In the meantime, I’m eager to know whether this campaign to raise money for The Everlasting Man will reach its goal. A number of people have complimented my reading voice. The question is: Do they like it enough to pay for it?

2 thoughts on “Of money and mouths

Leave a Reply

